RSS Feed

Posted on

I had a great moment Friday.  I was talking with a group of physicians.   We were talking about diagnoses of children.  A doc that takes care of adults said to the Peds doc, “John, you can put the diagnosis as ‘FLK.’  Do you know what an ‘FLK’ is?”   John is a pediatric plastic surgeon which means he’s the one operating on children born with craniofacial abnormalities like cleft palates.   My mind immediately went to my FLK post from just a few days prior.

John’s facial expression and tone grew firm.  He made eye contact with the other doc and replied, “None of my patients are FLKs.  They’re not funny-looking.”

You, go!  I was proud of him.

About Lindsay

I'm a nurse and a wife. Mom of two fur babies (read:dogs). I love God, my family, and taking care of people.

One response »

  1. Good for him!! Im sure that infuriated John to see another doc make fun of the sweet faces that he has dedicated his life to operating on. Glad he said that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

