RSS Feed

The Thirteenth Hour

Posted on

A twelve hour shift as a nurse really lasts 13 hours.  I get there at 6:45AM and usually finish up at 7:45 PM.  Today I didn’t get done until about 8:30.  Boooh! My feet are killing me! Usually after a really long day my very sweet husband fixes me some food and even brings me a glass of water.  He knows my exhaustion will win out over the need to eat a healthy meal and I’ll go to bed hungry or I’ll eat something horrendously bad for me. He’s not home yet tonight so I’m tempted to go for ice cream or cookie dough!

However, after today’s shift, I may have earned the cookie dough.  It was a long shift and sooo busy that I barely got to breathe.  It was frustrating because I let my patients and co-workers down when I can’t accomplish everything I want to.  Then, to top the shift off, I got a mixture of tube feed (read: baby formula) and gastric contents (read: vomit) on my arm when d/cing an NG tube (read: pulling an 18 inch long tube out of someone’s nose).  Yuck!

By the end of the day I had to refuse to take report on a patient coming up from the Emergency Department because there just wasn’t any time for it.  I was struggling to keep up as it was!  Thankfully I get two glorious days of sleeping in before I go back Sunday.

And, breathe!

About Lindsay

I'm a nurse and a wife. Mom of two fur babies (read:dogs). I love God, my family, and taking care of people.

3 responses »

  1. I think our husbands are together, so I hope you treated yourself to something special. The tube thing would completely gross me out, so there is good reason I am not a nurse!

    Reply
    • Haha. I’m pretty sure if it didn’t gross you out you wouldn’t be human!

      So far a no go on the cookie dough. It is just sooo far away from where I’m sitting! But he should be home soon! =)

      If only I could train the dogs to bring me cookie dough without eating it first!

      Reply
    • LOL. Er just came home and walked in the room with cookie dough ice cream! Boy, does he know me!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

