RSS Feed

Defensive Medicine

Posted on

Here’s a cute exchange from my facebook wall on defensive medicine.

Me: If I ever get sick, please let the docs practice defensive medicine.

Lauren: What’s defensive medicine?

Me: Let’s say there is a .1% chance I have a very treatable brain cancer and a 99.9% chance I just have a headache. The doc doesn’t think it’s that big a risk that I have cancer so they send me home on advil. Then I die. Sucks to be me.

If the doc was practicing “defensive medicine” he would have given me an MRI. Even though he didn’t think I had the brain cancer, he would give me the scan because he was worried he’d get sued.

Health policy folks get all worked up about defensive medicine because it is supposedly adding too much cost and should be gotten rid of.

For what I pay for my health insurance, copay, etc—- give me the scan. I earned it.

Rick: LOL  at this. There is a difference between a simple headache and headache with other symptoms that point to a neurological pathology. Don’t oversimplify.

Me: It’s a Facebook wall. It was designed for oversimplification of all of life’s Truths.

Rick: Well-played;) Didn’t get that memo.

About Lindsay

I'm a nurse and a wife. Mom of two fur babies (read:dogs). I love God, my family, and taking care of people.

Leave a Reply

